Applications: 2024 Teen Composer Award (Now Closed)

The 8th Annual Teen Composer Award

The Teen Composer Award (TCA) provides an invaluable and practical composition experience for one high-school aged composer through one-on-one composition mentorship, professional development and an introduction to the Canadian contemporary music community. The program includes participation in the workshop and rehearsal process and culminates in a live performance by the Continuum Ensemble on our main stage concert series.

Application deadline: October 27, 2023

From Fall 2023 through Spring 2024, the selected composer will be mentored by professional Canadian composer Lieke van der Voort, who will serve as a guide for the composition process. Lessons may be in person or via Zoom.

The recipient of the award will compose a 5-8 minute work for the Continuum ensemble (flute, clarinet, violin, cello, piano, and percussion with conductor), or a subset of this instrumentation agreed upon with Continuum’s Artistic Director.

The selected composer’s work will receive a live performance on April 7, 2024 at our concert PIVOT co-presented with the Canadian League of Composers, Canadian Music Centre, and the The Music Gallery at 918 Bathurst, Toronto.

The recipient will receive high quality video and audio of the performance; this documentation will also be shared via Continuum’s online platforms.

To Apply

Please send an email to with the subject “Teen Composer Award” by Friday, October 27, 2023 which includes:

  • Your full name and where you currently study
  • A paragraph in the body of the email about your interest in the program
  • If available, a PDF of one score
    • If not available, please address in your written statement and describe your past music making/composing experience 
  • If available, one or two links to audio or video of your music (Soundcloud, YouTube, Vimeo, Bandcamp etc.)

Teen composers residing in Canada are invited to apply. Continuum does not cover travel or accommodation expenses to attend the premiere performance.

Previous Recipients

Cindy Chen (2017), Erik Kreem (2018), Sarah Lu (2019), Zack Payne (2020), Sointu Aalto (2021), Britney Dawn Do (2022), Jacob Eaton (2023)